The Essential 4 Series: Bad Posture can be a Headache

In my last post, I spoke about my shoulder being in pain. It’s fine for right now so I wanted to explain to you how I got into this whole shoulder mess in the first place:

Memorial Day 1999 (well the week after LOL) – I got hit by a construction truck (if I tell you how, I’ll be too upset to finish this post). I started to get physical therapy on my neck (my C3/4 are damaged and I had no curve in my neck anymore…I’ll explain what C3 and C4 refer to in a minute), my knee and my jaw. This was the catalyst for my shoulder problems.

While in therapy, I had really bad headaches. Back injuries from running track in HS began to hurt again, this time, the pain was worse (I sprained the muscles in my back Junior year of HS). I asked my chiropractor at the time why I was getting such crazy headaches (the TMJ treatments didn’t help…for those who don’t know, TMJ = TemporoMandibular Joint (jaw joint)). My chiropractor looked at me and told me to stand up. I did so. She then took me to a mirror and asked me what I saw. I told her I saw Quasimodo with a humongous backside! LOL Of course she chuckled, but told me that I’m half right – my posture (or lack thereof) is causing my headaches.

Before I go further into headaches and posture, I want you to understand a couple of basic things about your posture and what “makes or breaks” good postures – your spine aka the backbone.

Here is a picture of your spine:There are 24 vertebrae in the spine, which are broken up into 3 parts: cervical spine (neck), thoracic spine (middle back), and lumbar spine (lower back).

UPDATE:  The spine is actually composed of 33 vertebrae, arranged in four curves. The fourth curve is the sacral/coccygeal curve, consisting of 5 sacral vertebrae and 4 coccygeal vertebrae. The sacral and coccygeal vertebrae are fused together. The fused coccygeal vertebrae, called the coccyx, moves on the sacrum above. The other 24 vertebrae are considered movable and that is why they are usually mentioned without the sacral/coccygeal vertebrae.

Inside the vertebral column, is the spinal cord, which is made up of nerves that connects to the brain (part of the central nervous system). Each vertebrae is also separated by a disk, which forms joints that allow the spine (and you) to move in various ways. Earlier, I spoke of how my C3 and C4 are damaged from my accident. If you look at the chart, you will notice that the C3 and the C4 deals with the parts of the neck that bends and gives that “natural curve”. What you may not realize is that every vertebrae has a specific function for the body and certain ailments can correspond to a part of your spine that is either compressed (the disks), doesn’t have enough fluid, is surrounded by weak ligaments/muscles so there is no real foundation for the spine, or has damaged nerves.

For me, the damage to my neck causes compression in my cervical spine against my shoulders (hence, my present shoulder pain). Please don’t think that actual bones have been broken or anything (I don’t think I would be alive with a broken neck LOL) but the muscles and ligaments surrounding my C3 and C4 are weak so that affects my cervical spine. 🙂

Most people have a better understanding of what I’m saying if I mention the term “whiplash” (since most neck injuries come from car accidents and the like)…not only can it give someone who has it a lot of money but it can cause a slew of future issues with your spine. That is why doctors take it so seriously (and why you can hit the jackpot if you have it).

A lot of people who may not have neck issues will probably have lower back issues, since most spinal damage is to the neck or back. Pain in these areas are usually cause when the root of the nerve is compressed or damaged. Sciatica is pain caused by general compression and/or irritation of one of five nerve roots that are branches of the sciatic nerve.
The sciatic nerve starts in the lower back and runs through the backside and down you leg. So in comparison to my present situation, when I have pain in my neck or in my shoulder, it’s because the muscles/ligaments are weak in certain parts of my spine (C3 and C4), which in turn affects the nerves.

So See, what does all of this have to do with a headache?

Rounded shoulders, a curved upper back, and a head pitched slightly forward (sounds like bad posture to me!) can all add up to muscle tension that results in head pain. The muscle tension affects the nerves in your spinal cord! According to Tomas Brofeldt, MD, at the Univ. of California’s Davis Medical Center, “…because the muscles of the neck and upper back connect to the head, tension arising in these areas can be referred to the forehead and behind the eyes.”

So the next time you have a headache or any kind of ache or pain near your neck, shoulders, back or legs, check your posture first. If you don’t have the best posture and no accidents, then you are clearly a step ahead of the pack when it comes to fixing these issues. 🙂

The last part of this posture series will include various methods to fix your posture and relieve minor headaches, neck, shoulder and back pains. Until then,

stay strong, stay healthy, and fight dis-ease!

References: Hughston Health Alert and “Yoga Remedies for Everyday Ailments” from the Editors of Yoga Journal.
Aldous, Susi Hately (2006). “Anatomy and Asana:Preventing Yoga Injuries”, Seattle, Eastland Press.

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “The Essential 4 Series: Bad Posture can be a Headache”

  1. Hello,I recently came across your blog and wanted to say thank, thank you, thank you! So imformative and educational! I also had an accident at work and injured my spine in the lumbar area, specifically l4 and l5. I have stories to share if it’s of any interest to you. Just a quick question…do u know how to swim? If so, are you able to or can you swim?Namaste,Elizabeth

  2. You’re very welcome, welcome, welcome Elizabeth!! LOLI appreciate the kind words and I do try to make things as simple as possible so that no one can feel like being healthy is a difficult thing. I would love for you to share your stories. You can do so as a comment or you can send an email to me personally at dorightforyourself@gmail.com. 🙂I do know how to swim and I can swim pretty well. My only issue with swimming is how to breathe properly…thank you so much Elizabeth…you just gave me a great introduction to the next part of my series!Sat Nam.SeeLaHSeeSYou!

Comments are closed.